Rhapsody Ambassadors - Statements

Franziska Hölscher, Violin

"Music is vital to children, children are vital to music. We want to bring music to young people, to win them over as friends, listeners or performers of the music that carries the musical life of the future. We want to familiarize them with musical instruments and show them their possibilities of musical, personal expression. Children are an invaluable source of inspiration and motivation for us artists and musicians."

Alban Gerhardt, Cello

„In the mid-90s, I saw myself forced to go and visits pupils in a so called ‘outreach’ project during a concert week in New York. I'll never forget this first visit, I was extremely skeptical having to go to a school in the Bronx with not a single white student. I felt extremely uncomfortable in my skin and deeply regretted the waste of my precious time. But to my total surprise I emerged only 45 minutes later transformed to being one of the biggest outreach enthusiast. The reactions of the kids have since touched me so deeply that to this day that I make every school visit an extraordinary experience for all of us. Back from the USA in 2001 I tried to visit schools on my own - unfortunately in vain. Then, when Lars Vogt approached me and wanted to win me for his outreach project “Rhapsody” he found my doors wide open. I was glad to finally have found people to organize my school visits for me.Thank you, Rhapsody, for making me happy and giving me the chance to convey my passion for classical music to young people. I do hope that my story, how much music has changed my life and how great such an acoustic instrument sounds, helps to change the perceptions of classical music being a thing boring and old and of the last centuries!"

Daniel Müller-Schott, Cello

„My commitment to Rhapsody in School is extremely important to me and a dear heart’s desire. I love the immediate enthusiasm the children show me every time, and I always look forward to all their questions that are enormously inspiring to me. The openness and curiosity about classical music makes me hope for a wonderful future!”

Annika Treutler, Piano

"As a musician, I see the transmission of classical music to the younger generation not only as our responsibility, but as a necessity. The direct exchange with students of all ages and their unfiltered reactions show me every time that we are doing the right thing. I am very grateful to Rhapsody in School for the dedicated work and I am wholeheartedly involved! "

Rhapsody Botschafter - Statements

Franziska Hölscher, Violine

"Musik ist für Kinder lebenswichtig, Kinder sind für Musik lebenswichtig. Wir wollen jungen Menschen Musik nahebringen, sie als Freunde, Hörer oder Ausübende der Musik gewinnen, die das Musikleben der Zukunft tragen. Wir wollen sie mit Musikinstrumenten vertraut machen und ihnen deren Möglichkeiten des musikalischen, persönlichen Ausdrucks zeigen. Kinder sind dabei für uns Künstler und die Musik unschätzbare Inspirations- und Motivationsquelle."

Alban Gerhardt, Cello

„Mitte der 90er Jahre sah ich mich gezwungen als Teil von Konzerten auch so genannte ‚outreach‘ u.a. auch an Schulen zu machen. Den ersten Schulbesuch werde ich nie vergessen, äußerst skeptisch in einer Schule in der Bronx mit keinem einzigen weißen Schüler – ich fühlte mich äußerst unwohl in meiner Haut und bedauerte zutiefst die Zeitverschwendung meiner ach so kostbaren Zeit, nur um 45 Minuten später als der größte Schulbesuch-Enthusiast wieder herauszukommen. Die Reaktionen der Kids haben mich derart berührt und tun es bis zum heutigen Tag, dass ich jeden Schulbesuch gar nicht so sehr für die Schüler, sondern für mich selbst mache. Zurück aus den USA im Jahre 2001 versuchte ich auf eigene Faust Schulen zu besuchen, leider vergeblich. Als dann Lars Vogt mich ansprach und für Rhapsody gewinnen wollte, lief er offene Türen ein, da ich froh war, endlich Leute gefunden zu haben, die mir meine Schulbesuche organisieren.Danke, Rhapsody, dass Ihr mich glücklich macht und mir die Chance gebt, meine Leidenschaft für klassische Musik jungen Menschen zu vermitteln, die dadurch vielleicht ein paar Hemmschwellen unserer Musik gegenüber abbauen, wenn sie erfahren, wie sehr Musik mein Leben verändert hat und wie großartig so ein akustisches Instrument klingt!“

Daniel Müller-Schott, Cello

„Mein Engagement für Rhapsody in School ist ein absolutes Herzensprojekt. Ich liebe die unmittelbare Begeisterung der Kinder und freue mich immer über alle Fragen, die enorm inspirierend sind. Die Offenheit und Neugier auf die klassische Musik lässt uns auf eine wunderbare Zukunft hoffen!“

Annika Treutler, Piano

“Als Musikerin sehe ich die Vermittlung klassischer Musik an die junge Generation nicht nur als unsere Verantwortung, sondern als Notwendigkeit. Der direkte Austausch mit Schülern jedes Alters und die ungefilterten Reaktionen führen mir bei jedem einzelnen Schulbesuch vor Augen, dass wir das Richtige tun. Ich bin Rhapsody in School sehr dankbar für die engagierte Arbeit und bin mit ganzem Herzen dabei!”